NATO and Its Political Countries

NATO and Its Political Countries



The North Atlantic Treaty Organization’s (NATO) basic purpose is to safeguard the freedom and security of its members through political and military defense, according to NATO International. The organization also allows a unique opportunity for member countries to confer and bring resolutions on security issues to all levels and a magnitude of fields. NATO was originally signed on April 4, 1949, by Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Italy, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Canada, and the United States.

On the political side, NATO endorses democratic values and motivates discussion and teamwork on defense and security issues to build trust and avoid conflict. On the military side, NATO is devoted to keeping peaceful resolutions of disputes. The military maintains crisis-management operations and is maintained by Article 5 of the Washington Treaty.

The NATO decision is an assertion of all of the 28 member countries; all decisions are made in unity. Every day there are hundreds of civilians and military experts and officials who go to NATO headquarters (NATO HQs), to talk, share ideas, and help make decisions, if needed, in alliance with national delegates and the staff at NATO HQs.

NATO Members Who Joined After 1949

  • Croatia (2009)
  • Albania (2009)
  • Croatia (2009)
  • Bulgaria (2004)
  • Estonia (2004)
  • Latvia (2004)
  • Lithuania (2004)
  • Romania (2004)
  • Slovakia (2004)
  • Slovenia (2004)
  • Hungary (1999)
  • Czech Republic (1999)
  • Poland (1999)
  • Spain (1982)
  • Germany (1955)
  • Turkey (1952)
  • Greece (1952)

In Recent News

On July 9, 2016, Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg talked with President Barack Obama at the Summit in Warsaw, Poland and ordered the deployment of troops to Eastern Europe. The response is being called by “Alaska Dispatch News,” to be its most serious move yet toward Russia’s hostilities and pressures on its western frontiers.

NATO poses no threat to any country. We do not want a new Cold War. We do not want a new arms race. And we do not seek confrontation.

NATO is going to place four squadrons in front-line states. Britain is going to be the lead in Estonia; Germany will lead in Lithuania; Canada will lead in Latvia; and the United States will lead in Poland. Although it is not enough, and they are not permanently based, it is said to be sufficient. If Russia, for one reason or the other, strikes a full-scale invasion on any of the above territories, the troops will act like a Tripwire, that will trigger a full on war against NATO.

Several matters have been settled in Warsaw. Cyberwar, which is the use of computers to interfere with the activities of an enemy country, especially deliberate attacks on communication systems, now falls under NATO’s purview. The alliance supports the European Union’s efforts to police the trafficking of humans across the Mediterranean.

It is reported by Salon, that the West will place troops at the closest they have ever been to Russia, in history. Russia has no intentions of doing anything but defending their own borders. The reason behind the rotation of NATO’s troops is because of an agreement with Russia in 1997, for troops not to be permanently stationed east of Germany.

Frank-Walter Steinmeier, the foreign minister of Germany, who spoke for many, including the French, Finns, and Italians, is quoted in saying, that they do not want another Cold War. Germany is using open dialogue as part of their defense readiness.

By Tracy Blake
Edited by Jeanette Smith


Alaska Dispatch News: Resisting the NATO revisionists: Finally, a first step
Salon: The West escalates with Russia: Make no mistake, a second Cold War is now official NATO policy
NATO International: What is NATO
The New York Times: Keeping NATO Relevant and United

Image Courtesy of UtenriksdepartementetUD’s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License