The 89th Scripps National Spelling Bee Ends With Co-Winners

The 89th Scripps National Spelling Bee Ends With Co-Winners [Updated]


Spelling Bee

The 89th Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee ended in a tie on May 26, 2016. According to the “Chicago Tribune,” the competition in the final round was ferocious, the 10 finalists, eventually became five and then two, at the Gaylord National Convention Center in Maryland. This is the third year in a row that there have been co-winners. The 2016 champions were Nihar Janga and Jairam Hathwar.

All of the contestants were champions in their local bees and under the age of 15. Another requirement for competing is that the student must not have completed the 8th grade. There are many other requirements that the youngsters must follow. The rules can be found on the Scripps National Spelling Bee website.

The preliminary events began on May 24, with all of the contestants taking a test. 284 spellers competed for the championship. Rounds two and three took place on May 25. At the end of round three, which was held in the afternoon, 45 contestants remained.

Early Thursday morning, May 26, those 45 competed for the win in the first round of the final. That number was decreased to 10. Those who remained met once again at 8:00 p.m. EDT. Of the 10 who advanced to the evening finals, two were crowned co-winners.

UPDATE: 11-year-old Janga won by spelling Gesellschaft. According to USA Today, the word “refers to a type of social relationship.” Hathwar, 13, spelled Feldenkrais. This word is part of a registered trademark for The Feldenkrais Method, which is touted as a combined style of somatic education to aid in the body in its healing process.

Written by Cathy Milne


Chicago Tribune: Spelling bee ends in tie for third straight year
Scripps National Spelling Bee: Welcome ’16
USA TODAY: National spelling bee ends in a tie for third consecutive year
Image Courtesy of Scripps National Spelling Bee’s Flickr Photostream – Creative Commons License